top of page

UNTITLED - JUPITER & SATURN

Jupiter and Saturn sit outside my window. The night sky holds them, pregnant and full.

From where I sit, on the inside of my bed, wrapped in thick comfort, they appear to be stars.

So, I wish on them.

Whisper my future into the present, hoping the night sky carries my lips to their ears.


My lips ask for feeling.

Nothing to hold

Or show

Even.


But for


Warmed hands making my waist feel good

Laughing eyes when the room can’t hold our breath

Silent hugs after 9 to 5 death.


Someone to

Confide in when the world turns shallow

Massage with prayer

After life leaves them bare.


I think it’s supposed to feel light

Like skin after you bathe.


But heavy too

Like hidden tears turned frozen.


Is it too much to ask for?

This feeling

Of light and heavy


Can the night sky hold this weight?

Am I too selfish to ask?

You,

Jupiter

Or you,

Saturn


For this feeling.


Stars that aren’t stars.

Can I still wish on you?

52 views

Recent Posts

See All

Combined

This personal essay was published by Long Wharf Theatre in 2021. Read the full length via the link below. A few weekends ago, I sat in an orange-black chair for ten hours as a woman and her daughter c

MY FEAR IS AN IMAGINATION

My fear has only made me Small. Recoil into the shell of my epidermis. Build mountains on my skin where flat surface should be. Seal shut my anger with glazed-over eyes and stubbornly frozen lips. Sma

bottom of page